Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

ASCAP To Bestow Special Honors At ASCAP’s 25th Annual Pop Music Awards

LOS ANGELES (CelebrityAccess MediaWire) — Lionel Richie and Steve Miller will be presented with the prestigious ASCAP Golden Note Award, which is presented to songwriters, composers, and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones.

Sara Bareilles will be presented with ASCAP's Vanguard Award in recognition of the impact of musical genres that help shape the future of American music. Past recipients include: The All-American Rejects, The Arcade Fire, Beck, Modest Mouse, the Strokes, Built to Spill, the Mars Volta, Joseph Arthur and Jack Johnson.

Receiving special recognition will be Fergie and Justin Timberlake.

Performances by ASCAP Golden Note Award honorees Steve Miller and Lionel Richie, Vanguard Award recipient Sara Bareilles, American Idol-turned-pop sensation Elliott Yamin, and Chris Tompkins and Josh Kear who co-wrote the hit song "Before He Cheats" for Carrie Underwood.

Confirmed attendees also include Keyshia Cole, Sean “Diddy” Combs, Jesse McCartney, Ryan Tedder, Desmond Child, Verdine White, Keri Hilson, and others.

WHAT: 25th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards – honoring the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed pop songs of 2007. Special Awards will be presented in the following categories: Songwriter of the Year, Song of the Year and Publisher of the Year.

WHERE: The Kodak Theatre, Los Angeles, California

WHEN: Wednesday April 9th, 2008
3:30 p.m. Media Check-in
5:00 p.m. Red Carpet arrivals
6:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

The 25th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards is part of “ASCAP I Create Music Week" — an entire week of events being held in Los Angeles to celebrate the voice of the music creator. – CelebrityAccess Staff Writers