Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

Jason Isbell Sweeps At Americana Awards

NASHVILLE, TN (CelebrityAccess) — The 13th annual Americana Music Association Honors and Awards Show took place on Wednesday, Sept. 17, live from the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tenn.

Hosted by renowned bluegrass performer Jim Lauderdale, the awards show featured numerous performances from country legend like Loretta Lynn and Rosanne Cash, as well rising stars such as Sturgill Simpson, backed by a house band that included Buddy Miller, Don Was, Joachim Cooder, Tim Lauer, The McCrary Sisters, Brady Blade, and Ry Cooder.

Jason Isbell had the biggest night, winning awards for Album of the Year and Artist of the Year and Song of the Year. Sturgill Simpson took home a trophy for Emerging Act of the Year and the Milk Carton Kids won the award for Best Duo/Group of the Year.

The Americana Music Association also honored several pioneering musicians, including Loretta Lynn, who was recognized with a lifetime achievement award for songwriting.

Jackson Browne received the Spirit of Americana-Free Speech in Music award. Tejano accordionist Flaco Jimenez received the lifetime achievement award for instrumentalist and blues legend Taj Mahal was won the lifetime achievement award for performance. – Staff Writers