Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

The Long List For The Shortlist

(CelebrityAccess MediaWire)-

The Long List for the 2004 Shortlist Music Prize to be awarded at the Wiltern Theatre in Los Angles on November 10, consists of 73 initial nominees from 11 countries, including Argentina (Juana Molina), Brazil (Bebel Gilberto), Mexico (Café Tacuba, Julieta Venega), France (Phoenix) Norway (Teitur), Australia (Sleepy Jackson) and Ireland (Simple Kid). The nominees were selected by a panel of 20 Listmakers, including top recording artists and music journalists, with 10 finalists to be named in September.

This year’s Long List reflects several trends in popular music. More than half of the 2004 Long List nominees come from independent record labels. There is also a renewed “British Invasion” that ranges from rock to rap. Artists from the UK accounted for an unprecedented 15 nominees, including Mercury Prize winner Dizzee Rascal, Scotland's Franz Ferdinand, and previous Shortlist finalists PJ Harvey and The Streets.

Listmaker Norah Jones nominated unique singer-songwriter Devendra Banhart, and a resurgent Loretta Lynn, who is gaining a new generation of fans with an album produced by Jack White of alt-rock fave White Stripes. Visionary female artists were also spotlighted by John Mayer, who selected piano stylist Nellie McKay, and hard rocker Serj of System of a Down, who nominated the Cape Verde singer Cesaria Evoria. Many of the Listmakers nominated artists well outside their own musical genre. Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson, drummer of the Roots, named Wilco and fierce indie band “TV On The Radio” to his list. Listmaker 3D of British electronica standout Massive Attack reached across the ocean to tap Las Vegas up and comers The Killers.

2004 "Long List" (Full List of all Nominations for 2004 Shortlist Music Prize):

TV On The Radio "Desperate Youth, Bloodthirsty Babes" (Touch &Go)

Wilco "A Ghost Is Born" (Nonesuch)

Wrens "Meadowlands" (Absolutely Kosher)

PJ Harvey "Uh Huh Her" (Island)

Franz Ferdinand "Franz Ferdinand" (Domino/Epic)

Belle &Sebastian "Dear Catastrophe Witness" (Sanctuary)

Scarling "Sweet Heart Dealer" (Sympathy For the Record Industry)

Oceansize "Efflorese" (Beggars Banquet)

Keb Mo "Keep It Simple" (Epic/Okeh)

The Killers "Hot Fuss" (Island)

Bob Schneider "I'm Good Now" (Shockorama/Vanguard)

Patty Griffin "Impossible Dream" (ATO)

David Bowie "Reality" (ISO/Columbia)

Muse "Absolution" (Warner Bros)

Cesaria Evora "Voz D'Amor" (Bluebird Jazz/RCA)

Eagles Of Death Metal "Peace Love Death Metal" (Ant Acid Audio)

Bebel Gilberto "Bebl Gilberto" (Six Degrees)

Buckethead "Bucketheadland 2" (ION)

Bad Acid Trip "Lynch The Weirdo" (Serjical Strike/RED INK)

Joe Strummer &The Mescaleros "Streetcore" (Hellcat/Epitaph)

Blonde Redhead "Misery Is A Butterfly" (4AD/Beggars Banquet)

Phil Kline "Zippo Songs" (Cantaloupe)

Blanche "If We Can't Trust The Doctors" (Cass)

Ghostface Killah "The Pretty Toney Album" (Def Jam)

Loretta Lynn "Van Lear Rose" (Interscope)

Neil Young "Greendale" (Reprise)

Holly Golightly "Truly She Is None Other" (Damaged Goods)

Macy Gray "The Trouble With Being Myself" (Epic)

Cee-Lo "Cee-Lo Green Is The Soul Machine" (Arista)

Rufus Wainwright "Want One" (Dreamworks)

Dizzee Rascal "Boy In Da Corner" (Matador/XL)

Nellie McKay "Get Away From Me" (Columbia)

Magnetic Fields "I" (Nonesuch)

Patti Smith "Trampin'" (Columbia)

Fiery Furnaces "Gallowsbird's Park" (Rough Trade)

The Secret Machines "Now Here Is Nowhere" (Reprise)

Dead Prez "Revolutionary But Gangsta" (Columbia)

Slum Village "Detroit Deli: A Taste Of Detroit" (Priority/Capitol)

Amel Larrieux "Bravebird" (Bliss Life)

Josh Ritter "Hello Starling" (Signature)

Devendra Banhart "Rejoicing In The Hands" (Young god)

Ryan Adams "Love Is Hell" (Lost Highway)

Iron &Wine "Our Endless Numbered Days" (Sub Pop)

Jesse Sykes and the Sweet Hereafter "Oh, My Girl" (Barsuk)

Jem "Finally Woken" (ATO)

Juana Molina "Segundo" (Domino)

The Sleepy Jackson "Lovers" (Astralwerks)

Cafe Tacuba "Cuatra Caminos" (MCA)

Non Prophets "Hope" (Lex)

AC Newman "The Slow Wonder" (Matador)

Teitur "Poetry & Aeroplanes" (Universal)

Jamie Cullum "Twentysomething" (Verve)

The Streets "A Grand Don't Come For Free" (Vice)

Air "Talkie Walkie" (Astralwerks)

Ty "Upwards" (Big Dada)

Elbow "Cast Of Thousands" (V2)

Galactic "Ruckus" (Sanctuary)

My Morning Jacket "It Still Moves" (ATO)

Simple Kid "1" (Vector)

Julieta Venegas "Si" (RCA International)

Travis "12 Memories" (Epic)

Gary Jules "Trading Snakeoil for Wolftickets" (Universal)

Van Hunt "Van Hunt" (Capitol)

Snow Patrol "Final Straw" (A &M/Interscope)

The Honorary Title "Anything Else But The Truth" (Doghouse)

Dios "Dios" (Startime)

Phoenix "Alphabetical" (Astralwerks)

The Weakerthans "Reconstruction Site" (Epitaph)

Keane "Hopes And Fears" (Interscope)

Jaylib "Champion Sound" (Stones Throw)

Melt Banana "Cell-Scape" (A-Zap)

Peaches "Fatherfucker" (Beggars/XL)

The Coral "Nightfreak And The Sons Of Becker" (Deltasonic/Columbia)

The LISTMAKER Panel for the 2004 Shortlist Music Prize:

Norah Jones

John Mayer

Robert Smith (The Cure)

Jack Black

3D (Massive Attack)

Jim Jarmusch

Will-I-Am (Black Eyed Peas)

Serj Tankian (System Of A Down)

Dixie Chicks

Perry Farrell

Ahmir '?uestlove' Thompson (The Roots)

Johs Homme (Queens Of The Stone Age)

Chris Carrabba (Dashboard Confessional)

Nic Harcourt


Neil Strauss

Thor Christensen

Josh Tyrangiel

Tom Moon

Margeaux Watson

–Bob Grossweiner and Jane Cohen