Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

Polaris Heritage Prize

2018 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize Winners Announced

790 0

TORONTO (CelebrityAccess) – Polaris Music Prize has announced the winning albums for the 2018 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize.

The winners were chosen from four shortlists, each representing a different musical era, and were curated by a Heritage Prize jury of music historians and music media. Two winners for each era were chosen — one by public vote and one by the jury.

The winners of the 2018 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize are:


Public: Neil Young – Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
Jury: Jean-Pierre Ferland – Jaune

1976 – 1985

Public: Rush – 2112
Jury: Bruce Cockburn – Stealing Fire


Public: Alanis Morissette – Jagged Little Pill
Jury: Dream Warriors – And Now the Legacy Begins


Public: Broken Social Scene – You Forgot It In People
Jury: Kid Koala – Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

Commenting on this year’s winners, Gary Slaight, President and CEO of Slaight Communications, said: “Congratulations to all the winning artists. You’ve created important memorable recordings that have had a lasting impact on the musical landscape. I have tremendous appreciation for the work that has gone into creating these timeless albums.”

“Our Heritage Prize jurors listened to dozens of classic Canadian albums and tried to imagine which ones would have made it onto a short list in the four pre-Polaris eras,” added Mary Dickie, the Heritage Prize jury foreperson. “They weighed innovation, musicianship, lasting influence and general brilliance and came up with this list of outstanding albums that reflect the remarkable diversity and genius of Canadian musicians. Thanks to all the winners for your timeless work.”

The records that did not get selected as winners will remain on the shortlists for the 2019 Heritage Prize. The Heritage jury will add two additional records for each era.

Related Post