Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

International Song Competition Recruits Some Serious Celebrity Judges

NASHVILLE, TN (CelebrityAccess MediaWire) — The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has put together a high-profile judging panel for its ninth year running. Judges include Peter Gabriel, Kings of Leon, and Kelly Clarkson among others.

The ISC offers songwriters and artists the opportunity to have their music heard by many music icons and popular artists as well as major and indie record label presidents.

Now accepting entries for the 2010 competition, ISC will give away more than $150,000 in cash and prizes, shared among the 66 winners, including an overall Grand Prize consisting of $25,000 cash and $20,000 in prizes according to the press release.

Open to both amateur and professional songwriters, ISC offers 22 categories to enter, representing all genres of popular music. Past winners have included artists at all levels, from Grammy winners to hobbyist songwriters.

To level the playing field for unknown artists, this year the ISC will feature an "Unsigned Only" category which is open to songwriters and artists not signed to a major label record deal, publishing company, or distribution deal.

In the past five years, three of the Grand Prize winners have been signed to major label deals (Universal and Epic). Other winners have secured publishing deals, smaller label deals, licensing deals, and distribution deals in addition to getting more gigs, fans, and recognition.

The following have been announced as 2010 ISC judges thus far:
Recording Artists:
Peter Gabriel
Kings of Leon
Tom Waits
Ben Harper
Jeff Beck
Kelly Clarkson
McCoy Tyner
Ben Folds
Robbie Williams
Michael W. Smith
John Scofield
Jerry Lee Lewis
Regina Spektor
Alejandro Sanz
Jeremy Camp
Terence Blanchard
Ray Wylie Hubbard
Montel Jordan
John Mayall
Craig Morgan
Jazmine Sullivan
DJ Tiesto
James Cotton
Sandra Bernhard
Robert Earl Keen
Baaba Maal
John Digweed
Black Francis (The Pixies)
Robert Smith (The Cure)
Chris Hillman (The Byrds)
Darryl McDaniels (Run D.M.C.)
Toots Hibbert (Toots & The Maytals)
Matt Thiessen (Relient K)

Industry Executives:
Monte Lipman (President, Universal Republic Records)
Amanda Ghost (President, Epic Records)
Rick Krim (Exec. VP, Talent & Music Programming, VH1)
Brian Malouf (VP A&R, Walt Disney Records)
Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records)
Angel Carrasco (Sr. VP A&R, Latin America, Sony/BMG)
Ric Arboit (President, Nettwerk Music Group)
Daniel Glass (Founder/CEO, Glassnote Entertainment Group)
Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment)
Dr. Demento (Radio Host, The Dr. Demento Show)
Steve Lillywhite (Producer)
Dan Storper (President, Putamayo World Music Records and Putumayo Kids)
Lisa Ramsey Perkins (Sr. Director, A&R Sony Nashville) Kim Buie (VP A&R, Lost Highway)

–by CelebrityAccess Staff Writers