Aussies To Make Massive Music Invasion At SxSW

(CelebrityAccess MediaWire) —

The Australian government is making a massive music invasion of the United States for South By Southwest in Austin, TX March 16-20 with 17 bands and over 150 attendees. With total logistical and financial support from the government, there will also be showcases in Los Angles at the Knitting Factory on March 13 before SxSW and in New York at Mercury Lounge on MArch 23 after SxSW as well as parties galore.
With more Australian artists & and executives ever in the Americas than ever before, the government says there is a
600% attendance increase in over three years.


A 15,000 copy free 36 page newspaper will be distributed in Austin to all SxSW registrants, and a 30 band sampler double CD set will also be launched at the event.

Bands performing on March 13 at the Knitting Factory in Los Angeles are
The Morning After Girls (Melbourne),
The Panda Band (Perth),
Starky (Sydney) and
Holly Throsby (Sydney).

Bands performing on March 18 at Brush Square Park in Austin are
After The Fall (Sydney).
Holly Throsby,

Starky,
Missy Higgins (Melbourne),
Little Birdy (Fremantle),
Oldman River (Sydney),
The Panda Band,
Ben Lee (Sydney),
Sarah Blasko (Sydney),
The Grates (Brisbane),
The Morning After and
Gyroscope (Perth).

Bands performing on March 23 Mercury Lounge in New York are
Little Birdy,
The Morning After Girls.
Panda Band,
Starky and
Holly Throsby.

The tentative lineup of official SxSW showcases for Australian artists is:

After The Fall — Sake on Sixth March 16 www.afterthefall.com.au

Sarah Blasko — Lounge March 17 www.sarahblasko.com

Bumblebeez 81 — Club De Ville March 19 www.thebumblebeez.com

John Butler Trio — Stubbs AM March 19 www.johnbutlertrio.com

Cut Copy — Club De Ville March 19 www.cutcopy.net

The Grates — The Velvet Spade Patio March 17 www.thegrates.com

Gyroscope — Lava Lounge Patio March 18 www.gyroscope.com.au

Jeff Lang — Hard Rock March 17 www.jefflang.com.au

Ben Lee — La Zona Rosa March 18 www.ben-lee.com

Little Birdy — Pecan Street March 17 www.littlebirdy.net
Missy Higgins — Maggie Mays March 17 www.missyhiggins.com

Morning After Girls — Habana Calle March 17 www.themorningaftergirls.com

Old Man River — Nuno's March 19 www.oldmanrivermusic.com

The Panda Band — Nuno's March 19 www.thepandaband.com

Starky — Lava Lounge Patio March 18 www.starky.net.au

Holly Throsby — Copa March 16 www.hollythrosby.com

Wolfmother — Club De Ville March 19 www.wolfmother.com

–Bob Grossweiner and Jane Cohen

Related Post