Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates
Colin James And Women Sweep Maple Blues Awards

Colin James And Women Sweep Maple Blues Awards

1913 0

TORONTO (CelebrityAccess) Colin James and several female blues musicians dominated the 22nd Maple Blues Awards, the awards show presented by the Toronto Blues Society to honor the finest in Canadian blues.

Vancover’s Colin James took home five awards for entertainer of the year, electric act of the year, male vocalist of the year, recording/producer of the year and songwriter of the year.

Female blues musicians were represented in several categories. Sue Foley got guitarist of the year, Lindsay Beaver got drummer of the year, Laura Greenberg won bassist of the year, Shirley Jackson was honored with horn player of the year, Emily Burgess landed new artist, and Angel Forrest got the award for female vocalist of the year.

Calgary-based Ellen McIlwaine aka Goddess of the Slide, was honored for her long career and outstanding contribution to the Canadian blues scene with the Blues with a Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award).

The Blues Booster of the Year Award, another special Maple Blues Award, was handed out to the Hornby Island Blues Society for their continued contribution the Canadian blues scene

The awards show took place at Koerner Hall in Toronto.

Performances included Edmonton expat Jenie Thai, Newfoundland’s Earle & Coffin, Ottawa’s Sue Foley (now based in Austin), and Toronto-based guitarist and singer Emily Burgess.  Salt Spring Island’s Harry Manx teamed up with Monkey Junk’s Steve Marriner to preview their new release and Raoul closed the show with the Big Time joined by surprise guest and big winner Colin for the finale.

Entertainer of the Year

Colin James

Electric Act of the Year

Colin James

Acoustic Act of the Year

Big Dave McLean

Male Vocalist of the Year

Colin James

Female Vocalist of the Year

Angel Forrest

New Artist of the Year

Emily Burgess

Recording/Producer of the Year

Colin James – Miles to Go / True North (Colin James & Dave Meszaros)

International Artist of the Year

Buddy Guy

Songwriter of the Year

Colin James

Blues with a Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)

Ellen McIlwaine

Guitarist of the Year
Sue Foley

Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year

David Vest

Harmonica Player of the Year

Steve Marriner

Horn Player of the Year

Shirley Jackson

Drummer of the Year

Lindsay Beaver

Bassist of the Year

Laura Greenberg (JW-Jones)

Blues Booster of the Year

The Hornby Island Blues Society

Related Post

Join CelebrityAccess Now