Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates
Randy Travis to Receive Founders Award at 2019 ASCAP Country Music Awards

Randy Travis to Receive Founders Award at 2019 ASCAP Country Music Awards

Randy Travis. Credit: Robert Tractenberg.
756 0

NASHVILLE (CelebrityAccess) – Country Music Hall of Famer Randy Travis will receive the ASCAP Founders Award at the 57th annual ASCAP Country Music Awards.

Considered one of ASCAP’s highest honors, the Founders Award is given to songwriters and composers who have made pioneering contributions to music.

“Randy Travis is the seminal country artist of a generation,” ASCAP chairman of the board and president Paul Williams said in a statement. “His meteoric rise to the top of the country charts was fueled by that unmistakable baritone and a talent for traditional country music that spoke to everyone. As a new artist, Randy garnered international attention at a time when such exposure for country artists was reserved for an iconic few.”

Over the course of his 40 plus year career, Travis has won seven Grammys and 11 Academy of Country Music Awards. He’s also secured three No. 1 hits on the Billboard Country Recurrent Airplay chart: “He Walked on Water” (1990), “Spirit of a Boy, Wisdom of a Man” (1999) and “Three Wooden Crosses” (2003).

This year’s Country Music Hall of Fame Awards ceremony is scheduled to take place November 11 in Nashville and will feature special guest performances to honor Travis.

Past recipients of the ASCAP Founders Award include Garth Brooks, Tom Petty and Neil Young.

Related Post

Join CelebrityAccess Now