City Folk Announces Marvest

OTTAWA, Ontario (CelebrityAccess) — CityFolk organizers announced that they are launching a brand new music festival, Marvest.

Billed as a celebration of Ottawa's music scene, the (mostly) free festival will take place from Sept. 16-20 in Ottawa at a number of locations in the city, including The Wild Oat, Metro Music, Octopus Books, Black Squirrel Books, House of Targ, Kunstadt Sports, FarmTeam Cookhouse, David’s Tea, The Unrefined Olive, Original Burger, Whole Foods Market, LOCAL Public Eatery, Irene’s, and the Aberdeen Pavilion, which will serve as the central hub for the festival.

usic fans in the region recognize that Ottawa has an abundance of world-class talent,” says CityFolk’s executive and artistic director Mark Monahan. “We see Marvest as an ideal opportunity to work with local businesses to showcase that talent and to enhance the CityFolk experience.”

Confirmed artists on the bill for the festival include: Alex Silas and the Subterraneans, Amanda Lowe, Amos the Transparent, Baberaham Lincoln, Black Dogs, Bottle Hearts, Danielle Allard, Dynamite Motel, Harea Band, Her Harbour, Hey Buster, High Waters, Ilvekyo, Jack Pine and the Fire, James Leclaire and the Cable 22s, John Allaire, Jon Becker and the North Fields, Kaleigh Watts, Kelly Sloan, Kristine St-Pierre, LeMeow, Loon Choir, Lost Cousins, Lost to the River, MATT dorgan PROJECT, Monday I Retire, Moonfruits, Nightshades, Orienteers, Pith and the Parenchymas, Rich Chris, Silver Creek, Slo' Tom and the Handsome Devils, Spencer Scharf, St. Stephens, Steamers, Steve Adamyk Band, Stone Age Man, Suits 'N Toques, The Brook, The Maxim Cossette Combo, The Gallop, The Hornettes, The Kingmakers, The Lionyls, The Ramblin' Valley Band, The Split, The Strain, The Vaneglory Farm, Three Times Lucky, Tindervox and Zoo Legacy.

In addition to music, Marvest will offer a sampling of local food and beverages with more than 15 craft breweries and wineries on hand.

In keeping with the theme of promoting the local music scene, nine Ottawa bands will release their newest albums as part of the free programming at the Aberdeen Pavilion. Participating bands include: Loon Choir (September 18th, 10 p.m. – All Of This and Everything Else); Alex Silas and the Subterraneans (September 17th, 10 p.m. – Tunnels); High Waters (September 19th, 10 p.m. – Goodnight Mara); Lost to the River (September 19th, 7 p.m. – Lost to the River); Ilvekyo (September 18th/ , 7 p.m. – Out Of Control); James Leclaire and the Cable 22's (September 17th, 7 p.m. – These Weights); John Allaire (September 20th, 7 p.m. – South of Solitude); Moonfruits (September 19th, 4 p.m. – Carousel EP); and The Brook (September 20th, 4 p.m. – Sweet Talk). – Staff Writers