Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

Little Miss Higgins Wins At Western Canadian Music Awards

EDMONTON, AB (CelebrityAccess MediaWire) — Little Miss Higgins’ critically acclaimed album “Junction City” won a 2008 Western Canadian Music Award for Outstanding Blues Recording last night (19) in Edmonton, Alberta.

Little Miss Higgins, aka singer/guitarist Jolene Higgins, who lives in Nokomis, Sask., appeared on the program at several affiliated events over the weekend.

“Junction City” was recorded in Calgary with some of that city's leading musicians, including producer Tim Williams as well as with Higgins’ side kick, Foy Taylor on rhythm guitar.

Little Miss Higgins is having a splendid year that has been filled with bookings from across the country and a handful of honors.

The five foot two performer won the Favorite Blues Artist/Group or Duo of the Year category of the 8th Annual Indies Awards held in Toronto March 8, 2008 during Canadian Music Week.

Junction City” was also nominated in the Blues Album of the Year category for the 2008 Juno Awards.

Little Miss Higgins has toured extensively this summer, including appearing on festival stages in Edmonton, Winnipeg, Montreal, Owen Sound, and Canso, Nova Scotia.

Award Winners:

Outstanding Aboriginal Recording

Fara Palmer – Phoenix (BC)

McKinley Matters – The Seventh Day (AB)

Ry Moran – Groundwater (BC)

Sandy Scofield – Nikawiy Askiy (Mother Earth) (BC)

Tracy Bone – No Lies (MB)

Outstanding Blues Recording

John Lee Sanders – Doc Goes Hollywood (BC)

Kenny “Blues Boss Wayne” – Can’t Stop Now (BC)

Little Miss Higgins – Junction City (SK)

Mud Dog – River of my Soul (BC)

The Perpetrators – Tow Truck (MB)

Outstanding Children’s Recording

Art Napoleon – Mocikan: Songs for Learning Cree (BC)

Bob King – It’s All About Attitude (SK)

Fred Penner – Where In The World (MB)

Googol Power – Crazy 4 Math (BC)

The Kerplunks – The Kerplunks (BC)

Outstanding Christian/Gospel Recording

Fresh I.E. – LockJaw (MB)

Jon Bauer – Surround (AB)

Jon Buller – the Hymn Project (BC)

Steve Bell – The Symphony Sessions (MB)

Tripmeter – Wide World Crashing (SK)

Outstanding Classical Composition

Anthony Genge – String Quartet (Anthony Genge) (BC)

Claude Kenneson – Flight (Dreamscape) (AB)

Elizabeth Raum – Dark Thoughts (How Bodies Make Ecstatic Marks) (SK)

Michael Horwood – Three Interludes (Masterworks of the New Era Vol. 10) (AB)

Vincent Ho – String Quartet No. 1 (Vincent Ho) (MB)

Outstanding Classical Recording

David Harding, Phillip Bush & Jonathan Crow – Brahms (BC)

Jasper Wood – A Child’s Cry from Izieu (BC)

Michael Horwood – Suite and Serious (AB)

Shauna Rolston – Dreamscape (AB)

Tiresias – Delicate Fires (BC)

Outstanding Country Recording

Aaron Lines – Moments that Matter (AB)

Gord Bamford – Honkytonks and Heartaches (AB)

Hey Romeo – Hey Romeo (AB)

Jo Hikk – Ride (AB)

Paul Brandt – Risk (AB)

Album francophone de l’année / Outstanding Francophone Recording

Ariane Mahryke Lemire – Double Entendre (AB)

Coulée – La belle tremblière (MB)

Josée Allard – La Sirene (BC)

Kraink – Après la grande guerre (MB)

Les Cireux d’Semelles – Le bel accent (SK)

Outstanding Instrumental Recording

Bob Evans – 4 on 6 (SK)

Inhabitants – The Furniture Moves Underneath (BC)

Jaime RT – SPARK (BC)

Jin Zhang – Tracing (BC)

Rabnett 5 – Leopardism (BC)

Outstanding Jazz Recording

Altered Laws – Metaphora (BC)

Greg Lowe – Guitar and Bass Sessions (MB)

Hutchinson Andrew Trio – Music Box (AB)

Ian McDougall Big Band – No Passport Required (BC)

Saul Berson Quartet – Intricacy (BC)

Outstanding Pop Recording

Elise Estrada – Elise Estrada (BC)

James Murdoch Band – In Transit (AB)

Jason Plumb and the Willing – Beauty In This World (SK)

Laurell – Fears Aside (BC)

The Liptonians – The Liptonians (MB)

Outstanding Rock Recording

Maybe Smith – Animals & Architects (SK)

Social Code – Social Code (AB)

State of Shock – Life, Love & Lies (BC)

The Evaporators – Gassy Jack and Other Tales (BC)

The Weakerthans – Reunion Tour (MB)

Outstanding Roots Recording ~ Duo/Group

Compadres – Buddy, Where You Been? (AB/MB)

Outlaw Social – Dry Bones (BC)

The Deep Dark Woods – Hang Me, Oh Hang Me (SK)

The Sojourners – Hold On (BC)

Twilight Hotel – Highway Prayer (MB)

Outstanding Roots Recording ~ Solo

Cara Luft – The Light Fantastic (MB)

Carolyn Mark – Nothing Is Free (BC)

Corb Lund – Horse Soldier! Horse Soldier! (AB)

Mark Berube and the Patriotic Few – What the river gave the boat (BC)

Wyckham Porteus – 3AM BC

Outstanding Urban Recording

GreenTaRA – Global Baby (BC)

Moka Only – Vermillion (BC)

Moka Only & Def 3 – Dog River (BC/SK)

Souljah Fyah – Truth Will Reveal (AB)

Touch & Nato – Intelligent Design (AB)

Outstanding World Recording of the Year

Alex Cuba – Agua Del Pozo (BC)

Celso Machado – Jogo da Vida (BC)

Mariam Matossian – In the Light (BC)

Niel Golden – It’s a Journey (BC)

Rumba Calzada – 2007 Raphael Geronimo’s Rumba Calzada Album 4 (BC)

Outstanding Independent Album Award

Corb Lund – Horse Soldier! Horse Soldier! (AB)

Immaculate Machine – Immaculate Machine’s Fables (BC)

Jeremy Fisher – Goodbye Blue Monday (BC)

The Perpetrators – Tow Truck (MB)

The Weakerthans – Reunion Tour (MB)

Songwriter(s) of the Year

Aaron Lines – Moments that Matter (AB)

Corb Lund – Horse Soldier! Horse Soldier! (AB)

Jeremy Fisher – Goodbye Blue Monday (BC)

Social Code – Social Code (AB)

The Weakerthans – Reunion Tour (MB)

Video of the Year

I Wanna Be In The Calvary – Corb Lund (AB)

Transportation – James Murdoch Band (AB)

Cigarette – Jeremy Fisher (BC)

Civil Twilight – The Weakerthans (MB)

Viva la Vinyl – Twilight Hotel (MB)

Hall of Fame Inductees

Senator Tommy Banks

Spirit of the West

–by Larry LeBlanc