Polaris Music Prize Announces Short List For 2017

TORONTO (CelebrityAccess) — The Polaris Music Prize has announced its 2017 'Short List' of ten Canadian albums which have been selected as nominees for the prestigious award.

The 2017 Short List was announced by CBC Radio 2 Morning host and Polaris juror Raina Douris, who is also serving as a host for the awards show when it takes place at the at The Carlu in Toronto on Sept. 18th.

Nominees for the year include Tribe Called Quest, the late Leonard Cohen, and Feist, who joins a select list of six artists who've been nominated on three different occasions.

The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Each of the nine other short-listed artists will receive $3,000 courtesy of Slaight Music.

2017 Polaris Music Prize Short List:

A Tribe Called Red – We Are The Halluci Nation
Leonard Cohen – You Want It Darker
Gord Downie – Secret Path
Feist – Pleasure
Lisa LeBlanc – Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen?
Lido Pimienta – La Papessa
Tanya Tagaq – Retribution
Leif Vollebekk – Twin Solitude
Weaves – Weaves