Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

Sir Elton John Among Disney Legends Award Honorees

BURBANK, Calif. (CelebrityAccess MediaWire) — Sir Elton John, along with 11 other leaders in the fields of music, journalism, art, performance, engineering and business, was honored by The Walt Disney Company, with the prestigious Disney Legends Award during a ceremony at The Walt Disney
Company headquarters October 9.

"This annual ceremony, now in its 19th year, gives all of us at Disney a moment to remember the importance of our past achievements and to recognize those who embody this company's constant focus on delivering unparalleled creativity, quality and innovation to our audiences around the world," said Disney President/CEO Robert Iger. "As we continue the tradition this year, we also mark a special milestone as we welcome our 200th Disney Legend."

The 12 new Disney Legends are:
Sir Elton John
Late ABC News anchor Peter Jennings
Actors Tommy Kirk and Kevin Corcoran (Old Yeller, The Shaggy Dog, Swiss Family Robinson, Mickey Mouse Club)
Actors Tim Considine and David Stollery (The Adventures of Spin and Marty)
Actress Ginny Tyler (Mickey Mouse Club)
Disney and Pixar animation story artist Joe Ranft
Voice actor Paul Frees (Haunted Mansion, Ludwig Von Drake)
Disney Imagineer Don Edgren (Disneyland, Pirates of the Caribbean, Space Mountain)
Animation background artist Al Dempster
Founder of Walt Disney Records, Jimmy Johnson.

The Disney Legends Award was established in 1987 to honor the men and women who have made significant contributions to the Disney legacy. Actor Fred MacMurray (The Shaggy Dog, The Absent-Minded Professor, The Happiest Millionaire) was the first recipient and since that time 203 Disney Legends have been named. Among the past Disney Legends are Julie Andrews, Steve Martin, Dick Van Dyke, Annette Funicello, Dean Jones, Angela Lansbury, Fess Parker, Kurt Russell, Tim Allen, Hayley Mills, Phil Collins, Art Linkletter, Tim Conway, Sir Tim Rice, Howard Ashman and Alan Menken.– Jane Cohen and Bob Grossweiner