Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates
ACM Awards Roundup - Links From Around The Web

ACM Awards Roundup – Links From Around The Web

1874 0

LAS VEGAS (CelebrityAccess) On the day before the Academy of Country Music has its big night of awards, hosted by Reba, at the MGM Grand Garden in Las Vegas, here is a roundup of some of the enterprise pieces from around the interweb.

Jason Aldean, who is current ACM Entertainer of the Year and competing again for the honor, recently told Billboard about returning to the city where the Route 91 Harvest festival shooting occurred. “It’s cool any time I come [to Vegas],” he said, adding, “probably for the rest of my life there will be a little bit of a weird feeling, at the same time. I love this city. I always have. I’ve had one night where it was horrible, but I’ve had a million great nights here and a lot of great memories. It’s always going to be a little strange coming here.”

The evening is also expected to be the first time Carrie Underwood will be in public since she took a nasty spill, breaking her wrist and having some mysterious damage to her face which now “might look a bit different.” Although some may expect a little alteration, the Washington Post didn’t leave it at that: complete with a day-to-day timeline, every possible tweet it could embed and how this mysterious injury affected the Internet, WaPo covers everything that did or did not happen from Nov. 11 to today.

RAC Clark, longtime producer of the popular music awards show, told Pollstar about what goes on behind the scenes and the “hundreds and hundreds” of staffers that put it together.

Because of Route 91 Harvest, and because of the overall threat of terrorism, the awards show will certainly have its somber moments, plus lots and lots of security, according to Rolling Stone.

MGM Resort International’s Debra DeShong told the magazine, “Security remains a top priority at all MGM Resorts properties, facilities and entertainment venues, and our security team works tirelessly to protect the safety of our guests and employees. We are constantly evaluating and refining our security procedures and work continuously with law enforcement and security experts to ensure major events – and every guest experience – remain safe and enjoyable for everyone.”

(That article was written by Mark Gray, who not only attended the Route 91 Harvest festival but wrote about for Rolling Stone the very next day.)

Meanwhile, Chris Young, who was at the festival as well and is performing tomorrow night, and who is having one of the most surprising tour successes of the year so far, is featured today by CBS News.

The ACM Awards will be broadcast live 8 p.m. EST.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Entertainer Of The Year

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Jason Aldean

Garth Brooks

Luke Bryan

Female Vocalist Of The Year

Reba McEntire

Kelsea Ballerini

Miranda Lambert

Maren Morris

Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist Of The Year

Jason Aldean

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Chris Young

Vocal Duo Of The Year

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line


Tim McGraw & Faith Hill

Vocal Group Of The Year

Lady Antebellum


Little Big Town


Old Dominion

New Female Vocalist Of The Year

Lauren Alaina

Danielle Bradbery

Carly Pearce


New Male Vocalist Of The Year

Kane Brown

Luke Combs

Devin Dawson

Russell Dickerson

Brett Young

New Vocal Duo Or Group Of The Year

High Valley




Runaway June

Album Of The Year

Breaker – Little Big Town (Producer: Jay Joyce / Record Label: Capitol Records Nashville)

California Sunrise – Jon Pardi (Producers: Bart Butler, Jon Pardi / Record Label: Capitol Records Nashville)

From A Room: Vol. 1 – Chris Stapleton (Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton / Record Label: Mercury Records)

Happy Endings – Old Dominion (Producer: Shane McAnally / Record Label: RCA)

Life Changes – Thomas Rhett (Producers: Julian Bunetta, Jesse Frasure, Dann Huff, Joe London, Thomas Rhett / Record Label: The Valory Music Co.)

Single Record Of The Year

“Better Man” – Little Big Town (Producer: Jay Joyce / Record Label: Capitol Records Nashville)

“Body Like A Back Road” – Sam Hunt (Producer: Zach Crowell / Record Label: MCA Nashville)

“Broken Halos” – Chris Stapleton (Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton / Record Label: Mercury Records)

“Drinkin’ Problem” – Midland (Producers: Dann Huff, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne / Record Label: Big Machine Records)

“I’ll Name The Dogs” – Blake Shelton (Producer: Scott Hendricks / Record Label: Warner Bros.)

Song Of The Year

“Body Like A Back Road” – Sam Hunt

Songwriters: Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne

Publishers: Universal Music Corp. / Sam Hunt Publishing, Highly Combustible Music / I Love Pizza Music, / Songs of Southside Independent Music Publishing / Who Wants to Buy My Publishing / Atlas Music Publishing, Anderson Fork In The Road Music / Smackville Music/Smack Songs LLC, Smack Hits

“Female” – Keith Urban

Songwriters: Ross Copperman, Nicolle Galyon and Shane McAnally

Publishers: EMI Blackwood Music Inc. / Rezolant Music/Plain Jane Songs, Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. / A Girl Named Charlie (BMI), Smack Hits / Smack Songs LLC (GMR)

“Tin Man” – Miranda Lambert

Songwriters: Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall

Publishers: Sony / ATV Tree Publishing / Pink Dog Publishing (BMI), Beat Up Ford Publishing (BMI), BMG Platinum Songs (BMI) / SWMBMGBMI / Lonesome Vinyl Music

“Whiskey And You” – Chris Stapleton

Songwriters: Lee Thomas Miller, Chris Stapleton

Publishers: WB Music Corp. / New Sea Gayle Music (ASCAP), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. / New Sea Gayle Music (BMI)

Video Of The Year

“Black” – Dierks Bentley

Director: Wes Edwards

Producer: Max A. Butler

“It Ain’t My Fault” – Brothers Osborne

Director: Wes Edwards, Ryan Silver

Producer: Tiffany Davies

“Legends” – Kelsea Ballerini

Director: Jeff Venable

Producer: Ben Skipworth

“Marry Me” – Thomas Rhett

Director: TK McKAMY

Producer: Dan Atchison

“We Should Be Friends” – Miranda Lambert

Director: Trey Fanjoy

Producer: April Dace

Songwriter Of The Year

Rhett Akins

Ashley Gorley

Hillary Lindsey

Shane McAnally

Josh Osborne

Vocal Event Of The Year

“Craving You” – Thomas Rhett featuring Maren Morris (Producers: Julian Bunetta, Dann Huff, Joe London, Thomas Rhett / Record Label: The Valory Music Co.)

“Dear Hate” – Maren Morris featuring Vince Gill (Producers: Brad Hill, Maren Morris / Record Label: Columbia Nashville)

“Funny (How Time Slips Away)” – Glen Campbell and Willie Nelson (Producer: Carl Jackson / Record Label: Universal Music Enterprises)

“The Fighter” – Keith Urban featuring Carrie Underwood (Producers: Busbee, Keith Urban / Record Label: Capitol Nashville)

“What Ifs” – Kane Brown featuring Lauren Alaina (Producer: Dann Huff / Record Label: RCA Nashville)

Related Post

Join CelebrityAccess Now