Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates
National Indigenous Music Award Unveils 2019 Nominations

National Indigenous Music Award Unveils 2019 Nominations

Courtesy of The National Indigenous Music Awards.
587 0

AUSTRALIA (CelebrityAccess) – The National Indigenous Music Awards have unveiled their nominations for the 2019 awards.

Leading this year’s finalist list is Mojo Juju, who is nominated in four of the six categories following the massive success of her third studio album Native Tongue.

Following Mojo Juju with three nominations is Gumbaynggirr rapper Tasman Keith.

Also featured on the finalist list are Baker Boy, Archie Roach, Briggs, Electric Fields, Jessica Mauboy, Thelma Plum, Emily Wurramara, Dan Sultan, Kaiit, Kobie Dee, Mambali Band and Tia Gostelow.

It has been a big year for Indigenous musicians including Mojo Juju and Dan Sultan nominated for three and two ARIAs apiece, Electric Fields becoming runners up to be Australia’s Eurovision entrant, Baker Boy cracking commercial radio with “Cool as Hell” and Gurrumul winning the Australian Music Prize and four ARIAs for Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow).

“In the past year, Indigenous music has continued its meteoric rise to the top of music in Australia, pushing boundaries and finding its place at the forefront of art in our country,” said NIMA Reference Group Chair, Warren H. Williams. “The NIMAs follows that rise ready to recognize and amplify the voices of our musicians on their journey upwards.”

This year’s event will be held on Saturday, August 10 at Darwin’s iconic Amphitheater. 

Taking to the stage that evening is legendary ARIA and APRA Award-winning, NIMA Hall of Fame inductee Archie Roach, along with previously announced performers Jessica Mauboy, Dan Sultan, Electric Fields, Tasman Keith, Indigenous choir collective Spinifex Gum, Yorta Yorta soprano Deborah Cheetham, Larrakia nation’s Kenbi Dancers and Indigenous violinist Eric Avery.

Tickets are on sale now, available through Darwin Festival HERE.

The nominees for the 2019 National Indigenous Music Awards are as follows:

Artist of the Year

Archie Roach
Baker Boy
Electric Fields
Jessica Mauboy
Mojo Juju

Album of the Year

Archie Roach – The Concert Collection 2012 – 2018
Dan Sultan – Aviary Tales
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue
Tia Gostelow – Thick Skin
Thelma Plum – Better In Blak

Song of the Year

Baker Boy – Black Magic
Electric Fields – 2000 and Whatever
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue
Tasman Keith (ft Stevie Jean) – Prey
Yirrmal – For Everyone

New Talent of the Year

Dallas Woods
Kobie Dee
Mambali Band
Tasman Keith

Film Clip of the Year

Briggs – Life Is Incredible
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue
Tasman Keith (ft Stevie Jean) – Prey
Thelma Plum – Better In Blak
Yirrmal – For Everyone

Community Clip of the Year

Deni Mob – State Of The Heart
Peppi School – Play Good Way
Numbulwar School Band – What’s The Reason?
Tiwi College – Picka Family

Related Post

Join CelebrityAccess Now