Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

2002 Tony Award Nominations

The 56th annual Tony Award nominations have been announced. The award ceremony will be held June 2 at Radio City Music Hall in New York.

The Tony nominations for 2002 are:

Best Play

Edward Albee's The Goat or Who Is Sylvia?

Fortune's Fool



Best Musical

Mamma Mia!

Sweet Smell of Success

Thoroughly Modern Millie

Urinetown The Musical

Best Book of a Musical

Catherine Johnson – Mamma Mia!

John Guare – Sweet Smell of Success

Richard Morris and Dick Scanlan – Thoroughly
Modern Millie

Greg Kotis – Urinetown The Musical

Best Original Score written for the Theatre

Marvin Hamlisch, Craig Carnelia – Sweet Smell
of Success

Jeanine Tesori, Dick Scanlan – Thoroughly
Modern Millie

Harry Connick Jr – Thou Shalt Not

Mark Hollmann, Mark Hollmann, Greg Kotis –
Urinetown The Musical

Best Revival of a Play

The Crucible

Morning's at Seven

Noises Off

Private Lives

Best Revival of a Musical

Into the Woods


Best Special Theatrical Event

Bea Arthur on Broadway, Just Between Friends

Elaine Stritch at Liberty

Mostly Sondheim

Sexaholix – a love story

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a

Alan Bates – Fortune's Fool

Billy Crudup – The Elephant Man

Liam Neeson – The Crucible

Alan Rickman – Private Lives

Jeffrey Wright – Topdog/Underdog

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a

Kate Burton – Hedda Gabler

Lindsay Duncan – Private Lives

Laura Linney – The Crucible

Helen Mirren – Dance of Death

Mercedes Ruehl – Edward Albee's The Goat or
Who Is Sylvia?

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a

Gavin Creel – Thoroughly Modern Millie

John Cullum – Urinetown The Musical

John Lithgow – Sweet Smell of Success

John McMartin – Into the Woods

Patrick Wilson – Oklahoma!

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a

Sutton Foster – Thoroughly Modern Millie

Nancy Opel – Urinetown The Musical

Louise Pitre – Mamma Mia!

Jennifer Laura Thompson – Urinetown The

Vanessa Williams – Into the Woods

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a

Frank Langella, Fortune's Fool

William Biff McGuire, Morning's at Seven

Brian Murray, The Crucible

Sam Robards, The Man Who Had All the Luck

Stephen Tobolowsky, Mornings at Seven

Best Performance by a Featured Actress in
a Play

Kate Burton – The Elephant Man

Katie Finneran – Noises Off

Elizabeth Franz – Morning's at Seven

Estelle Parsons – Morning's at Seven

Frances Sternhagen – Morning's at Seven

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a

Norbert Leo Butz – Thou Shalt Not

Gregg Edelman – Into the Woods

Shuler Hensley – Oklahoma!

Brian d'Arcy James – Sweet Smell of Success

Marc Kudisch – Thoroughly Modern Millie

Best Performance by a Featured Actress in
a Musical

Laura Benanti – Into the Woods

Harriet Harris – Thoroughly Modern Millie

Spencer Kayden – Urinetown The Musical

Judy Kaye – Mamma Mia!

Andrea Martin – Oklahoma!

Best Scenic Design

John Lee Beatty – Morning's at Seven

Tim Hatley – Private Lives

Daniel Ostling – Metamorphoses

Douglas W Schmidt – Into the Woods

Best Costume Design

Jenny Beavan – Private Lives

Jane Greenwood – Morning's at Seven

Susan Hilferty – Into the Woods

Martin Pakledinaz – Thoroughly Modern Millie

Best Lighting Design

Paul Gallo – The Crucible

David Hersey – Oklahoma!

Natasha Katz – Sweet Smell of Success

Brian MacDevitt – Into the Woods

Best Choreography

Rob Ashford – Thoroughly Modern Millie

John Carrafa – Into the Woods

John Carrafa – Urinetown The Musical

Susan Stroman – Oklahoma!

Best Direction of a Play

Howard Davies – Private Lives

Richard Eyre – The Crucible

Daniel Sullivan – Morning's at Seven

Mary Zimmerman – Metamorphoses

Best Direction of a Musical

James Lapine – Into the Woods

Michael Mayer – Thoroughly Modern Millie

Trevor Nunn – Oklahoma!

John Rando – Urinetown The Musica

Best Orchestrations

Benny Andersson, Björn Ulvaeus, Martin Koch –
Mamma Mia!

Doug Besterman & Ralph Burns – Thoroughly
Modern Millie

William David Brohn – Sweet Smell of Success

Bruce Coughlin – Urinetown The Musical

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre

Julie Harris

Robert Whitehead

Regional Theatre Tony Award

Williamstown Theatre Festival