Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

Jason Isbell Wins Album Of The Year At 2016 Americana Honors and Awards

NASHVILLE, TN (CelebrityAccess) — Singer songwriter Jason Isbell won awards for both album of the year and song of the year at the 2016 Americana Honors and Awards show. Isbell was recognized for his latest release "Something More Than Free," which also earned him a Grammy earlier this year for best Americana album.

"This community has given us a place that was a lot bigger than it used to be," Isbell said while accepting his award. "I am not a part of the first generation or the second generation or even the third generation of Americana performers."

Country singer and songwriter Chris Stapleton took home the award for Artist of the Year on the strength of his latest album "Traveller."

The emerging artist of the year award was claimed by Margo Price and her critically acclaimed debut album "Midwest Farmer's Daughter." Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell won for duo/group of the year.

Lifetime Achievement Award honorees: Bob Weir, Jim Lauderdale, William Bell, Billy Bragg, and Shawn Colvin, and the late, great Woody Guthrie.

Held at Nashville's historic Ryman Auditorium, the awards were hostd by country and bluegrass legend Jim Lauderdale.

2016 Americana Honors and Awards nominees

Instrumentalist of the Year: Sara Watkins

Group/Duo of the Year:
Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell

New/Emerging Artist of the Year:
Margo Price

Song of the Year:
“24 Frames,” Jason Isbell

Artist of the Year:
Chris Stapleton

Album of the Year:
“Something More Than Free,” Jason Isbell, Produced by Dave Cobb

Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music Association and the First Amendment Center:
Billy Bragg

Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer:
Shawn Colvin

Lifetime Achievement Award, Songwriting:
William Bell

Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance:
Bob Weir

Lifetime Achievement Award, WagonMaster:
Jim Lauderdale

President's Award:
Woody Guthrie