Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

2001 Jazz Journalists Association Awards

Winners of the Jazz Journalists Association were announced last night (June 14) at a benefit held at New York's famed jazz club, Birdland. Winners were based on tabulations of ballots from 162 of 351 JJA members; voting on finalists were culled from 96 JJA members' nominating ballots. The eligible time period was April 15, 2000 – April 15, 2001.

And the winners are:

Lifetime Achievement in Jazz (joining previous honorees Benny Carter, Ornette Coleman, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins) – John Lewis

Musician of the Year – Joe Lovano

Album of the Year – Joe Lovano, 52nd Street Themes (Blue Note)

Reissue of the Year – Louis Armstrong, Hot 5s and 7s (Columbia Legacy)

Events Producer of the Year – George Wein, Festival Productions

Composer of the Year – Andrew Hill

Male Singer of the Year – Jimmy Scott

Female Singer of the Year – Dianne Reeves

Recording Debut of the Year – Jane Monheit, Never Neverland (N-Coded Music)

Afro-Cuban Jazz Album of the Year – Chucho Valdés — Solo: Live in New York (Blue Note)

Brazilian Jazz Album of the Year – Eliane Elias, Everything I Love (Blue Note)

Small Ensemble of the Year – Dave Holland Prime Directive Quintet

Large Ensemble of the Year (tentet or bigger, including big bands, jazz orchestras, contemporary symphonies, et. al.) – Maria Schneider Orchestra

Trumpeter of the Year – Dave Douglas

Trombonist of the Year – Wycliffe Gordon

Brass of the Year (tuba, French horn, etc.) – Howard Johnson

Alto Saxophonist of the Year – Greg Osby

Tenor Saxophonist of the Year – Sonny Rollins

Soprano Saxophonist of the Year – Jane Ira Bloom

Baritone Saxophonist of the Year – Hamiet Bluiett

Winds and Reeds of the Year – Marty Ehrlich, saxophones, clarinets, flutes

Pianist of the Year – Kenny Barron

Organ-keyboards of the Year – Larry Goldings

Guitarist of the Year – Bill Frisell

Acoustic Bassist of the Year – Dave Holland

Electric Bassist of the Year – Steve Swallow

Strings Player of the Year – Regina Carter, violin

Mallets Player of the Year – Stefon Harris, vibes, marimba

Percussionist of the Year – Poncho Sanchez, congas

Drummer of the Year – Billy Higgins


Jazz Journalism Lifetime Achievement Award – Dan Morgenstern

Excellence in Photography/the Lona Foote-Bob Parent Award – Chuck Stewart

Excellence in Newspaper, Magazine or Online Feature and Review Writing/the Helen Oakley Dance-Robert Palmer Award – Bob Blumenthal

Excellence in Jazz Broadcasting/the Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award – Michael Bourne, WBGO-FM, Newark and www.wbgo

Best Film/Video Regarding Jazz of the Year – Ken Burns' "Jazz"

Best Periodical Covering JazzJazz Times

Best Jazz Liner Note/Program Note of the Year – David X. Young's Jazz Loft (JazzMagnet), essays by Bob Brookmeyer, Teddy Charles, Bill Crow, Howard Mandel, Juan Osaka McFelsnir, and David X. Young

Best Jazz Website of the Year – (second consecutive year)

Best Book on Jazz of the Year "Oxford Companion to Jazz," Bill Kirchner, ed. (Oxford University Press)