Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

All Star Line Up Came Together In An Emotional And Historic Evening At The 2014 La Musa Awards

MIAMI, FL (CelebrityAccess Mediawire) This Saturday, October 18th, a celebration took place during the second annual induction gala of the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame LA MUSA AWARDS® honoring some of the greatest Latin music-makers of all time. From the posthumous homage to Argentinean composer Carlos Gardel by singer Diego Torres who performed Gardel's classic tune, "El Día Que Me Quieras" (The Day You Love Me), to the final performance of the evening when singers Jon Secada and Ednita Nazario came together on stage to perform inductee Gloria Estefan's epic anthem of hope and transcendence "Coming out of the Light".

The evening was hosted by the actress, model and activist Eglantina Zingg, who returned to LA MUSA AWARD ® during an event that brought together the biggest stars of Latin music in a celebration honoring their music and its makers. (a complete list of the honorees at the bottom).

Singers Luis Enrique, Angel Lopez and Beatriz Luengo performed a medley which included some of Omar Alfanno's biggest hits, "El Gran Varón,"Y Hubo Alguien", "Que Alguien Me Diga", "Asi Es La Vida", "A Puro Dolor". A special recognition to the national anthem of Panama was performed by singer, and songwriter Erika Ender. CNN En Español, author, anchor, and producer Ismael Cala, presented the Desi Arnaz Pioneer Award to the visionary and pioneer of Hispanic radio in the United States and founder of SBS, Raul Alarcon Sr.

R&B singer Miguel received the La Musa Victory Award and performed a medley which included the worldwide hit "Adorn" and the theme "Destined to Die." To honor Lolita de la Colina, one of the composers inducted this year in the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame, Rafael Negrete performed a medley with two of the biggest hits of the Mexican composer, "Sin Caballero No Hay Dama", "Se Me Olvido Que Te Olvide."

Natalia Jimenez, recipient of last year's La Musa Elena Casals Award, was on hand to present the 'La Musa' trophy to Latin Grammy winner, Marlow Rosado who performed "Cuando Marlow Suena El Piano" and "Kuli-Yuki" performed by the young Cuban-American singer De La Torre. Every year the La Musa Awards® shines the spot light on an upcoming new star. Last year, El Dasa was featured and now he is topping the Latin charts.

A tribute to Rafael Perez Botija was performed by David Bisbal, who sang one of Botija's classics, "Desesperado.". Leila Cobo, entertainment journalist who is executive director of Latin content and programming for Billboard was presented the La Musa Conquistador Award to Jencarlos Canela who performed a medley with his biggest hits including "Amor Quédate" and "Tu Sombra".

Argentinean composer, musician and music producer, winner of several Oscars, Gustavo Santaolalla performed one of his classics and was responsible for introducing the Ralph S. Peer Publishers Award (Premio Editores Ralph S. Peer) to renowned music industry executive, Zach Horowitz. The Icon Award (Premio Icono) was presented to Spanish singer, songwriter and producer, Alejandro Sanz, one of the most influential artists of the past two decades, who performed his worldwide hit "No Me Compares."

The Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame 2014 Inductees are: Gloria Estefan (Cuba), Omar Alfanno (Panama), Lolita De La Colina (Mexico), Rafael Pérez Botija (Spain).

The 2015 list of the 24 Nominees will be announced on Jan 28th in two categories (performing and non-performing) and the voting begins immediately after the press conference. The final 6 Inductees will be decided by its members.

-La Musa Awards – Gloria Estefan (Cuba), Omar Alfanno (Panamá), Lolita De La Colina (México), Rafael Perez Botija (España), and a recognition was posthumously awarded to Carlos Gardel and Alfredo Le Pera (Argentina).

* Premio Pionero Desi Arnaz: Raúl Alarcón Sr.

* Premio La Musa Elena Casals: Marlow Rosado

* Premio Triunfador – Miguel

* Premio Conquistador – JenCarlos Canela

-Premio Editores – Zach Horowitz

MUSA14 List of Inductees, Honorees, Presenters & Performers:

Alejandro Sanz
Ángel Lopez
Beatriz Luengo
Claudia Brant
David Bisbal
De La Torre
Desmond Child
Diego Torres
Ednita Nazario
Emilio Estefan
Erika Ender
Gabriel Mores
Gloria Estefan
Gustavo Santaolalla
Ismael Cala
Jencarlos Canela
Jon Secada
Leila Cobo
Luis Enrique
Marlow Rosado
Mauricio Zeilic
Natalia Jiménez
Rafael Negrete
Ralph Peer II
Raúl Alarcón Jr
Rudy Perez
X Alfonso
Zach Horowitz