Reformed Dinosaur Jr. Announce West Coast Dates

(CelebrityAccess MediaWire) — Dinosaur Jr. is back in their original lineup for the first time in 15 years.

Dinosaur Jr., soon to return to the States from a sold out run of European shows, is preparing to embark on their first U.S. tour since the ground-breaking power trio split in 1990.

The volatile relationship of its members – J Mascis, Emmett Jefferson "Murph" Murphy III and Lou Barlow – and their enduring influence on alternative rock, recently compelled Time Out Chicago to dub this reunion "far more interesting than the bloated arena resurrections of late."

Dinosaur Jr.'s sonic wall of melodic bass, furious drums and stunning guitar wizardry, coupled with an almost laissez faire vocal delivery, forever changed the face of rock & roll music. Their recently re-issued albums and their epic reunion shows are proving the music to be as relevant today as it was when the band first roamed. Dinosaur Jr.'s debut performance in April at Hollywood's Spaceland confirmed the trio's live show to be as electric and jaw-dropping as ever, while their three albums recently re-released on MERGE – Dinosaur, You're Living All Over Me and Bug – have been deemed by Blender as "classics," offering "near-perfect, ridiculously hooky thrash."

Dinosaur Jr.'s full tour, including the just confirmed string of west coast dates, is as follows:

Thu July 7 Orlando, FL House of Blues
Fri July 8 Atlanta, GA Variety Playhouse
Sat July 9 Norfolk, VA The Norva
Sun July 10 Carrboro, NC Cat's Cradle
Mon July 11 Washington, DC 9:30 Club
Tue July 12 Northampton, MA Pearl Street
Wed July 13 Philadelphia, PA Electric Factory w/ Broken Social Scene
Thu July 14 New York, NY Central Park SummerStage w/ Broken Social Scene
Fri July 15 Boston, MA Avalon
Sat July 16 Quebec City Parc de la Francophonie, Quebec City Summer Festival
Sun July 17 Toronto, ON Phoenix Concert Theatre
Tue July 19 Cleveland, OH House of Blues
Wed July 20 Detroit, MI Majestic Theatre
Thu July 21 Covington, KY The Madison Theater
Fri July 22 Milwaukee, WI The Eagles Club
Sat July 23 Minneapolis, MN The Quest
Sun July 24 Chicago, IL Lollapalooza
Fri – Sun July 29-31 Japan Fuji Rock Fest Naeba Ski Resort
Sat Aug 13 Las Vegas, NV House of Blues
Mon Aug 15 San Diego, CA Soma
Tue Aug 16 Anaheim, CA The Grove of Anaheim
Wed Aug 17 Hollywood, CA The Avalon
Thu Aug18 San Francisco, CA The Fillmore
Fri Aug 19 Portland, OR Crystal Ballroom
Sat Aug 20 Seattle, WA The Showbox
Mon Aug 22 Vancouver, BC Commodore Ballroom

–by CelebrityAccess Staff Writers

Related Post