Huey Lewis & The News Sign A Recording Deal With BMG

950 0

NEW YORK (CelebrityAccess) — 80s icons Huey Lewis and the News have signed a new recording deal with BMG to release their forthcoming 10th studio album.

While Huey Lewis and the News may be best remembered by younger folks from their inclusion Bret Easton Ellis’ 1991 novel, American Psycho, and the subsequent film of the same name, the group’s music has won multiple Grammys and topped the charts in the 1980s, with more than 20 million albums sold.

Now, entering their 39th year together, Huey Lewis & The News consists of Huey Lewis (vocals and harmonica), Johnny Colla (saxophone, guitar and vocals), Bill Gibson (drums, percussion and vocals), Sean Hopper (keyboards and vocals), Stef Burns (guitars and vocals) and John Pierce (bass).

The live show features their long-time horn section of San Francisco bay area performers including Rob Sudduth (tenor saxophone), Marvin McFadden (trumpet), and Johnnie Bamont (baritone saxophone).

Lewis said, “We’re very excited about our new album, and honestly feel that it’s among our best work – we cannot wait to get it out to fans! We’re equally excited to be with BMG, whose reputation as a ‘music-first’ label precedes them admirably.”

The new album will be the first material released by the group since 2010’s Soulsville, which peaked at #121 on the Billboard 200 but hit #18 on the R&B/Hip-Hop albums chart.

John Loeffler, EVP, Marketing & Repertoire, New York, said, “In the time we’ve grown closer with Huey and the band it became clear that this is a perfect match. We’re thrilled to welcome Huey Lewis and the News and proud to call BMG their new label home. We look forward giving the band more opportunities to take advantage of all we have to offer and working alongside them to develop some new creative endeavors.”

Related Post