Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates
Joni Mitchell To Receive Les Paul Innovation Award At 35th Annual NAMM TEC Awards

Joni Mitchell To Receive Les Paul Innovation Award At 35th Annual NAMM TEC Awards

Joni Mitchell. Courtesy of Asylum Records.
1003 0

CALIFORNIA (CelebrityAccess) – Legendary folk artist and pioneer Joni Mitchell will receive the prestigious Les Paul Innovation Award at the 35th Annual NAMM Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards (NAMM TEC Awards), being held Saturday, January 18, 2020, in Anaheim, California.

The award is given on behalf of the Les Paul Foundation to honor individuals that have set the highest standards of excellence in creative application of artistry in the spirit of the famed audio pioneer, inventor and musician, Les Paul.

“We are excited that Joni will be the recipient of the prestigious Les Paul Innovation Award,” said Michael Braunstein, Executive Director of The Les Paul Foundation. “Like Les, she has been a trailblazer and a true renaissance woman – a songwriter, musician, producer and influencer who made her mark with very influential songs in the 60s. She has pushed the boundaries of what it means to be a female singer-songwriter over the course of her four-decade career, and like Les Paul, she’s never been scared to take creative risks. We are thrilled that Joni Mitchell will join the list of extraordinary recipients that represent the spirit of the legendary Les Paul.”

“Thank you for this honor,” added Mitchell. “I’m grateful for being appreciated.”

Over the course of her illustrious career, Joni has been the recipient of three Juno Awards, nine Grammys (plus their Lifetime Achievement Award), the Governor General’s Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement, and a Polar Music Prize. Additionally, she has been being inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame, the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame, and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Past recipients of the Les Paul Innovation Award include: Peter Frampton, Jackson Browne, Joe Perry (Aerosmith), Don Was, Slash, Todd Rundgren, Pete Townshend, Steve Vai and others.

The NAMM TEC Awards, held during the global gathering of music, sound and event technology at The NAMM Show, are bestowed annually in honor of the many individuals, companies and technical innovations used in sound recordings, films, broadcast television and video games.

You can purchase tickets on site or in advance here for $65 (General Admission) or $195 (VIP). The show begins with a VIP-only reception at 6PM, followed by the awards ceremony at 7PM, held in the Hilton Anaheim Hotel’s Pacific Ballroom. Portlandia co-creator, Saturday Night Live alumnus and drummer, Fred Armisen will host the event.

Related Post

Join CelebrityAccess Now