Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

Dance Music Hall Of Fame Nominees Named

(CelebrityAccess News Service) – The Dance Music Hall of Fame has released its list of nominees for the 2004 awards.

Each year the nominating committee and board of advisors will select nominees in the categories of Performer, Record, Producer, Remixer and DJ. Ballots are then sent to an international voting committee of over 1,000 dance music experts. Artists and others that helped shape the dance music industry become eligible for induction 25 years after their first contribution or record release. Nominations are not based solely on the subject's revenue or popularity. Criteria also include the influence and significance of the nominee's contributions to the development and perpetuation of dance music.

The Dance Music Hall of Fame will recognize the contributions of those who have had a significant impact on the evolution and development of dance music and will celebrate the history and significance of dance music.
Its board members are Daniel Glass (president, Artemis Records), Eddie O'Loughlin (president, Next Plateau Entertainment) and Thomas Silverman (chairman, Tommy Boy Entertainment).

Dance Music Hall of Fame 2004 nominees:

Performers (10 nominees–three to be inducted in 2004):

Barry White

Bee Gees


Donna Summer

Gloria Gaynor

James Brown

KC &The Sunshine Band



The Trammps

Producers (three nominees–one to be inducted in 2004):

Gamble &Huff

Giorgio Moroder &Pete Bellotte

Nile Rodgers &Bernard Edwards

Remixers (three Nominees–one to be inducted in 2004):

Jim Burgess

Tom Moulton

Walter Gibbons

Records (15 Nominees–five to be inducted in 2004):

Cheryl Lynn – Got To Be Real

Diana Ross – Love Hangover

Donna Summer – I Feel Love

Double Exposure – Ten Percent

Eddie Kendricks – Girl You Need A Change of Mind

Evelyn "Champagne" King – Shame

George McCrae – Rock Your Baby

Gloria Gaynor – Never Can Say Goodbye Medley (Never Can Say Goodbye, Reach out I'll Be There, Honey Bee)

Harold Melvin &The Bluenotes – Bad Luck

Love Unlimited Orchestra – Love's Theme

Manu Dibango – Soul Makossa

MFSB – Love is the Message

Silver Convention – Fly Robin Fly

Sylvester – You Make Me Feel Mighty Real

Thelma Houston – Don't Leave Me This Way

DJ's (10 Nominees–three to be inducted in 2004):
Bobby "DJ" Guttadaro

David Mancuso

David Todd

Francis Grasso

John "TC" Luongo

Larry Levan

Nicky Siano

Pete "DJ" Jones

Tee Scott

Walter Gibbons

–Bob Grossweiner and Jane Cohen