Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

Daniel Lanois To Keynote SXSW 2003; Panels, Panelists Announced

SXSW, the annual spring music confab in Austin, Texas, March 12 – 16, has
announced its initial slate of panels and panelists.

Renowned producer Daniel Lanois, whose credits include Bob Dylan's "Time Out of
Mind," Peter Gabriel's "So," and U2's "The Joshua Tree," will keynote this year's
event on March 13.

This year's Crash Courses and introductory panels will include: Touring and
Booking, Merchandising, Management, Legal Matters, Publicity, Publishing, The
Basics of Indie Labels and Distributors, and Radio Stations That Actually
Play New Music.

Among the innumerable conference panel topics are Label Heads Sound Off;
Creating A Rock Biography; When Should You Sign With A Major?; Auditing and
Accounting at Major Labels; Latin Music and the Media, Launching A Project; Fair
Use Today; Retail: Creating a Customer Base; Music in Games; Be My Guest:
Music on Television; and AAA Radio: More Listeners, More Impact?, with more to

Confirmed panelists include Bill Bentley, senior VP/Media Relations,
Warner Bros Records; Todd Brabec, exec VP Membership, ASCAP; Jeffrey
Brabec, VP Business Affairs, Chrysalis Music Group; Chris Castle, Wilson
Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati; Tomas Cookman, president, Cookman
International; Joe D'Angelo, writer, MTV News; Jim Derogatis, pop music
critic, Chicago Sun Times; Peter Edge, VP of A&R, J Records; Jack
Emerson, owner/operator, Praxis Recordings; Leslie Fram, program
director, WNNX; Holly George-Warren, writer, Jackalope Press; Karen
Glauber, president, Hits Magazine; Brad King, digital ent. reporter,
Wired News; Bruce Lundvall, president, Blue Note Records; Ian Montone,
attorney, Davis Shapiro & Lewit LLP; Bill Nowlin, director, Rounder
Records; Peter Rauh, The Nehru Ellis Company; Frank Riley, agent, High
Road Touring; Bonnie Simmons, manager, Bonzilla Corp; Graham Stairs,
popguru sound & vision; Jennifer Toomey, executive director, Coalition
for the Future of Music; and Jaan Uhelszki, writer.