Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

IAJE To Meet In Toronto In January

The International Association for Jazz Education (IAJE) will hold its 30th Annual Conference in Toronto, January 8 – 11, 2003. The Fairmont Royal York, Sheraton Centre Toronto and the Crowne Plaza Centre Hotels, along with the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, will host the world's largest jazz gathering, with over 7,000 educators, musicians, enthusiasts and industry representatives from 35 countries expected to attend.

This will be the first IAJE Annual Conference held outside of the United States, as reflected in the theme "Jazz – Crossing All Borders." The theme also reflects the global evolution of jazz as a music embraced by the world. According to IAJE President David Baker, "Anyone involved in the teaching, performance, presentation, or business of jazz will find this conference to be tremendously valuable."

Over 150 artists and clinicians will participate in the conference program, including: Chucho Valdés, Yellowjackets, Monty Alexander Trio, Metalwood, Jane Bunnett & Spirits of Havana, Hank Jones, Nnenna Freelon, Slide Hampton Big Band, The Maritime Jazz Orchestra, John Pizzarelli Trio, Lizz Wright, The Danish Radio Orchestra with Renee Rosnes, Francois Bourassa Quartet, Dave Weckl Band, John Patittuci, David Murray, Francois Carrier Trio, Denny Zeitlin Trio, George Cables, Dave McMurdo Jazz Orchestra, Dave Young Quintet, Brad Turner Quartet, Jane Ira Bloom, Teri-Lynne Carrington Quintet, Michel Camilo, Bunky Green, Kenny Wheeler, Terry Gibbs, Kenny Werner, Eric Marienthal, Paquito D'Rivera, Pat Martino, Ed Thigpen, James Williams, Ralph Humphrey and Jimmy Cobb. Additional artists will be announced after September 15.

A number of top school ensembles are confirmed to perform at the conference, which includes groups from Israel, Singapore, Europe, Canada, and the U.S. The Midland Youth Jazz Orchestra from Solihull, England, who are performing at the conference for the first time, are the 2002 winners of the BBC Big Band Competition. The University of Toronto and Humber College will present student and faculty ensembles from the Toronto community.

Jazz education as always will be at the heart of the conference agenda, with approximately 125 clinics and workshops on far ranging topics and subjects such as jazz history, improvisation, technology, composition, arranging, performance techniques and teacher training.

The European Jazz Festivals Organization and the IAJE will present the second annual International Jazz Award, which recognizes international artists who have contributed significantly to the evolution of jazz. The $20,000 award will be presented to British-born bassist/bandleader/composer Dave Holland. Joe Zawinul was the 2002 recipient.

The IAJE Conference will also host the National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Masters Awards Concert for the 13th consecutive year. Hosted by CBS Sunday Morning arts correspondent Dr. Billy Taylor, himself a past NEA Jazz Master, each honoree will receive a $20,000 fellowship during the evenings ceremonies. The 2003 award recipients will be announced later in the Fall. 2002 NEA honorees were Frank Foster, Percy Heath and McCoy Tyner.

Dr. Oscar Peterson will be the guest of honor and President's Award recipient during the 3rd Annual IAJE Gala Dinner. Scheduled for Wednesday, January 7, at the Royal York Hotel, the Gala will be hosted by Nancy Wilson and all proceeds will benefit the IAJE Global Outreach Fund. The IAJE Presidents Award, which honors an individual for their extraordinary contributions to the field of jazz education, was presented to Quincy Jones in 2002 and Ken Burns in 2001.

The IAJE Conference industry track will boast upwards of 25 sessions for 2003. These insightful and often times controversial panels and workshops are geared to members of the jazz recording, journalism, presenting, performing, retail, and radio industry. With sponsorship and support from Jazz Times, BET on Jazz, Jazziz, Down Beat, Jazz Report, Coda, NARAS, the Jazz Journalists Association, and DL Media, the industry track will provide an opportunity for industry members to interact with jazz educators and musicians in a series of sessions that encourage honest exchange of ideas and strategies for the new century. Designed "by the industry for the industry", 40 leaders from all segments of the North American jazz business community convened at last year's conference to program the 2003 industry track. According the IAJE Executive Director Bill McFarlin "it is encouraging to see the entire jazz community recognize the importance of jazz education as we work together to strengthen the field of jazz."

Additionally, the Jazz Radio Consortium is producing a full-day radio symposium on Wednesday, January 8 focusing on issues of interest to jazz radio professionals. A command broadcast booth in the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, co-hosted by the Canadian Broadcast Corporation and National Public Radio, will provide daily live feeds from the conference. A schedule of live and tape delayed radio broadcasts will be announced at a later date.

Other conference highlights will include performances by the BET on Jazz Sisters in Jazz Collegiate All-Stars, the winner of the Montreux Jazz Festival Jas Hennessy Piano Competition, and the Clifford Brown/Stan Getz Fellowship Recipients (supported in part by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts). The world premiere of the Herb Albert Jazz Endowment Fund Gil Evans Commission and the ASCAP/IAJE Commissions (honoring Billy Taylor) will also be presented during the conference.

A 70,000 sq. ft. music industry exposition will round out the conference with over 300 exhibits representing a diverse mix of companies including festivals, publishers, manufacturers, agencies, schools, and record companies. Full conference early bird registration is $260 U.S./$405 CND, which includes a one-year IAJE membership. Registration after November 15 is $285 U.S./$450 CND. Current IAJE members can deduct $55 U.S./$80 CND. For more information or to register for the conference, call IAJE at (785) 776-8744, fax (785) 776-6190, email or log on to