Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

k-os, Jully Black Lead 2005 Canadian Urban Music Award Nominees

(CelebrityAccess MediaWire) – Canadian rapper k-os and R&B singer Jully Black lead the list of nominees for the 2005 Canadian Urban Music Awards with five nods eachs. The event will take place in Toronto on November 28th and 29th.

k-os scored nominations in the Fan’s Choice Award category, top hip-hop recording and top hip-hop video for his single “Crabbuckit,” top songwriter and top producer.

Black’s single, “This is Me,” from her debut album “Sweat of Your Brow,” earned nominations for top R&B/soul recording, top video and top dance/electronic recording for remixes of the song by Trackheadz and Tricky Moreira. Black was also named in the top new artist category.

A Lifetime Achievement Award will go to jazz drummer Archie Alleyne, co-leader of the Toronto jazz collective Kollage. Alleyned has played with artists including Billie Holiday, Nancy Wilson, Mel Torme, Joe Sealy and Liberty Silver during his 50-year-career.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year:

Jully Black feat. Demarco – "Sweat Of Your Brow"
Divine Brown – "Old Skool Love"
Keshia Chanté – "Let the Music Take You"
Shawn Desman – "Let's Go"
Massari feat. Loon – "Smile for Me"

Hip-Hop Recording of the Year:

Kardinal Offishall – "Head's Up"
K'naan – "Strugglin’"
k-os – "Crabbuckit"
Maestro feat. Infinite & Gowan – "Criminal Mind"
Rochester aka Juice feat. Andreena Mill – "I'm Ready"

Dance/Electronic Recording of the Year:

Aluna – "All I Need Is Time" (Sluslik Luna Mix)
Jully Black – "Sweat Of Your Brow" (Trackheadz Remix)
Jully Black – "Sweat Of Your Brow" (Tricky Moreira Remix)
Sherrie Lea – "No Ordinary Love"
Taras – "I Love You" (JJ Club Mix)

Reggae Recording of the Year:

Jah Beng – "Biggest Part of Me"
Blessed – "Reggae Time"
Sonia Collymore – "No Cash Flow"
Odel Johnson – "Fire in the Hole"
Korexion – "It's All Bless"

Soca Recording of the Year:

Connector – “Jump and Move”
King Cosmos – “Island Girl”
Kristal Fevlo – “Can't Stay Still”
Romona Fevlo – “I Am the One”

Jazz Recording of the Year:

Jane Bunnett – “Black is the Colour”
Ranee Lee & Oliver Jones – “Just You, Just Me”
Sophie Milman – “I Can't Give You Anything But Love, Baby”
PJ Perry & Doug Riley – “Come Sunday”
Brad Turner Trio – “Question the Answer”

Gospel Recording of the Year:

George Banton- "Leave Me at the Altar"
Hetti-Marie – "Truth"
Malichi – "See You Again"
Patricia Shirley – "Real Love"

Global Rhythms Recording of the Year:

Alpha Yaya Diallo (African Guitar Summit) – "Djarabi"
Fito Blanko – "Me Voy A Marchar"
Madagascar Slim (African Guitar Summit) – "Salama"
Muna Mingole – "Ses'a Longue"
Donne Robert (African Guitar Summit)- "Sadebake"

Francophone Recording of the Year:

Damien – "J'aurais Voulu"
DobaCaracol – "Baisé Salé"
Loco Locass – "Bonzaion"
Malik Shaheed feat. Impossible & Radical – "Qui Run Tings?"
South Squad – "Together"

Spoken Word Recording of the Year:

El Machetero – "2Pac Syndrome"
L.E.V.I.A.T.H.A.N. – "Pharango Pops"
Dwayne Morgan – "Mother I Understand"
Michael St. George – "Dubbin De Vibes"
Andrea Thompson – "One"

New Artist of the Year:

Jully Black
Divine Brown
Rochester aka Juice

Songwriter of the Year:

Shawn Desman
Rupert Gayle & Keshia Chanté

Producer of the Year:

Perry Alexander

Record Label of the Year:

EMI Music Canada
Justin Time Records
Sony BMG Music Canada Inc.
Universal Music

Music Video of the Year:

Duane Crichton (Director) – "Old Skool Love" by Divine Brown
Harv (Director) – "Sweat of Your Brow" by Jully Black feat. Demarco
Mr. X (Director) – "Does He Love Me" by Keshia Chanté
Micah J. Meisner & k-os (Directors) – "Crabbuckit" by k-os
RT! (Director) – "Let Me" Remix by Melanie Durrant feat. Kardinal Offishall

DJ/DJ Crew of the Year:

Dr. Jay
DJ Ritz
Skratch Bastid
Starting from Scratch

Media Personality of the Year:

Farley Flex (Canadian Idol, National)
Shauntay Grant (Chronicle Herald & The Coast, Halifax)
Ashante Infantry (Toronto Star, Toronto)
Mastermind (VIBE 98.5, Calgary)
Malik Shaheed (Musique Plus, Montreal)

Publication of the Year:


Website of the Year:

Concert Promoter/Booking Agent of the Year:

G-MAN and Rizk (Vancouver)
Colin Lewis, The Agency Group (Toronto)
REMG (Toronto)
Substance Group (Toronto)
Urban Metropolis (Edmonton)

Manager/Management Company of the Year:

Ivan Berry – IB Entertainment
Manny Dion – Capital Prophet Management Inc.
Mr. Morgan – M3 Entertainment Inc.
Chase Parsons – Chase Communications
Chris Smith – Chris Smith Management

Community Service Award:

Atlantic Canada Hip-Hop E-Newsletter (Troy Neilson)
B.L.O.C.K Headz (Paul Green)
Kay Morris Foundation (Kay Morris)
UrbanAIDS (Towa Beer)

Fan’s Choice Award:
Divine Brown
Keshia Chanté
Shawn Desman

–by CelebrityAccess Staff Writers