Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!


Composers John Powell & Germaine Franco To Be Honored By ASCAP

1372 0

NEW YORK (CelebrityAccess) — ASCAP, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, announced that film composer John Powell will be honored with the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award at the 33rd annual ASCAP Screen Music Awards in Los Angeles on May 23.

Powell has scored more than 60 motion pictures over the course of his career. He is best known for providing the music for the Matt Damon ‘Bourne’ trilogy, as well as animated film music, including How to Train Your Dragon (for which he was nominated for an Oscar), FOX’s Oscar-nominated Ferdinand, as well as Antz, Shrek, three Ice Age sequels, Rio and the How To Train Your Dragon sequel. His upcoming work includes Disney’s Star Wars spinoff “Solo: A Star Wars Story,” directed by Ron Howard, which is due in theaters on May 25.

The ASCAP Henry Mancini Award is presented to composers for outstanding achievements and contributions to the world of film and television music.

ASCAP also announced that they will recognize film composer Germaine Franco with the ASCAP Shirley Walker Award. Franco is the first Latina composer invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, music branch. She co-wrote and produced five original songs for Disney/Pixar’s Oscar-winning Coco, directed by Lee Unkrich and co-directed by Adrian Molina, for which she received an Annie Award.

The Shirley Walker Award award honors those whose achievements have contributed to the diversity of film and television music. An ASCAP member, Shirley Walker was one of the first prominent female composers working in film and television and is remembered as a pioneer for women in the film industry.

The invitation-only dinner and awards ceremony will honor the composers and songwriters of the top box office film music, top-rated series and the most performed television music of 2017. ASCAP will also reveal the winners of its annual Composers’ Choice Awards at the ceremony, which are open to voting by all eligible ASCAP writer members.

The Composers’ Choice Awards include three categories: Film Score of the Year, TV Composer of the Year and Video Game Score of the Year.

Related Post