Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates
Canada's Walk of Fame Celebrates 20th Anniversary & Announces 2018 Inductees

Canada’s Walk of Fame Celebrates 20th Anniversary & Announces 2018 Inductees

Canada's Walk of Fame 2018 Inductees. Courtesy of: Canada's Walk of Fame.
1006 0

TORONTO, CA (CelebrityAccess) – Canada’s Walk of Fame has today (July 23) announced its 2018 Inductees.

Inductees will be recognized in the following five categories: Sports and Athletics, Philanthropy and Humanities, Arts and Entertainment, Business and Entrepreneurship, and Science and Technology.

The 2018 Canada’s Walk of Fame Inductees are:

  • Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir (Sports and Athletics) – The pair are the most decorated figure skaters in Olympic history.
  • Andrea Martin (Arts and Entertainment) – Tony and Emmy Award-winning actress, singer, author, and comedian known for her roles in Pippin on Broadway, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, The Good Fight and SCTV.
  • Col. Chris Hadfield (Science and Technology) – The first Canadian to walk in space, the first Canadian spaceship commander, a New York Times bestselling author, YouTube sensation and renowned speaker.
  • Leonard Cohen (Legend Inductee) – Iconic poet, singer-songwriter, and novelist who world-famous compositions include “Suzanne,” “Bird on a Wire,” and“Hallelujah,” among countless others
  • Andy Kim (Arts and Entertainment) – Award-winning singer-songwriter who has sold over 30
    million records and is best known for hits including “Baby, I Love You,” “Sugar Sugar” and “Rock Me Gently.”
  • Dr. Joanne Liu (Philanthropy and Humanities) – As International President of Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF/Doctors Without Borders) since October 1, 2013, Dr. Liu has provided support after the tsunami in Indonesia, assisted people affected by the earthquake and cholera epidemic in Haiti, and worked with Somali refugees in Kenya among many other crises.
  • Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg (Arts and Entertainment) – Childhood friends who have collaborated to bring their unique and hilarious brand of comedy to people around the world through television and box office hits including Superbad and Sausage Party.
  • Jimmy Pattison (Business and Entrepreneurship) – Entrepreneur, investor and philanthropist, who rose from selling vegetable seeds to building a business empire with The Jim Pattison Group, Canada’s second largest private company.

“Now, more than ever, we are embracing and celebrating our unique and strong Canadian identity,” said Jeffrey Latimer, CEO of Canada’s Walk of Fame. “Canada thrives because of its people, and Canada’s Walk of Fame is working to inspire, empower and recognize excellence in our country. Each of our Inductees this year has a different story of success, of giving back and overcoming obstacles to reach their goals. We will tell more of these stories as we move through our 20th anniversary – the inspiration and path to success, not just the success itself.”

Inductions will be held at the Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards show at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto on December 1, 2018, followed by a 20th Anniversary Gala celebration to be held at the Fairmont Royal York. The CANADA’S WALK OF FAME AWARDS will air on CTV in December.

Related Post

Join CelebrityAccess Now