Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates
Carly Rae Jepsen, Shawn Mendes, Jessie Reyez & More Make Polaris Music Prize Long List

Carly Rae Jepsen, Shawn Mendes, Jessie Reyez & More Make Polaris Music Prize Long List

Shawn Mendes (Josiah VanDien).
1086 0

WINNIPEG (CelebrityAccess) – Canada’s Polaris Music Prize announced its 2019 Long List nominees this week. Carly Rae Jepsen, Shawn Mendes and Jessie Reyez are all among the 40 titles up for Canada’s album of the year, as determined by a 199-member jury of music journalists, bloggers, broadcasters and other media from across the country.

In total, 233 albums were considered for the Long List. The albums are judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre, record sales or professional affiliation.

Albums eligible for 2019 Polaris Music Prize consideration must be released between May 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019. Albums released between May 1 and May 31, 2018 that did not make the 2018 Long List are also considered.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $50,000 to the winner. Additionally, Slaight Music gives $3,000 to each of the other nine short-listed nominees. The 10 album Short List will be announced on July 16.

Past winners of the Prize include: Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

The 2019 Polaris Music Prize winner will be revealed at the Polaris Gala on Monday, September 16 at the Carlu in Toronto, and will be live streamed globally at

The 2019 Polaris Music Prize Long List is:

Tim Baker – Forever Overhead
Tanika Charles – The Gumption
Clairmont The Second – Do You Drive?
Charlotte Cornfield – The Shape of Your Name
Marie Davidson – Working Class Woman
Dilly Dally – Heaven
The Dirty Nil – Master Volume
Dizzy – Baby Teeth
Elisapie – The Ballad of the Runaway Girl
FET.NAT – Le Mal
Dominique Fils-Aimé – Stay Tuned!
Fucked Up – Dose Your Dreams
Yves Jarvis – The Same But By Different Means
Carly Rae Jepsen – Dedicated
Kaia Kater – Grenades
Kimmortal – X Marks the Swirl
La Force – La Force
LAL – Dark Beings
Laurence-Anne – Première apparition
Salomé Leclerc – Les choses extérieures
Lee Harvey Osmond – Mohawk
Jean Leloup – L’étrange pays
Shay Lia – Dangerous
Les Louanges – La nuit est une panthère
Loud – Tout ça pour ça
Shawn Mendes – Shawn Mendes
Haviah Mighty – 13th Floor
Operators – Radiant Dawn
Orville Peck – Pony
Sandro Perri – In Another Life
PUP – Morbid Stuff
Lee Reed – The Steal City EP
Jessie Reyez – Being Human In Public
Shad – A Short Story About A War
Snotty Nose Rez Kids – Trapline
Alexandra Stréliski – INSCAPE
sydanie – 999
Voivod – The Wake
Wintersleep – In The Land Of

Related Post

Join CelebrityAccess Now