Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

IAJE Set for Jan 9-12, 2002; New Awards, Expanded Sessions

The International Association for Jazz Education (IAJE) will hold its 29th Annual Conference in Long Beach, California January 9 -12, 2002. The Long Beach Convention Center and Hyatt Regency Hotel will host the world's largest jazz gathering, with over 7,000 educators and musicians for industry representatives from 35 countries expected to attend.

There will be a record number of concerts, seminars, showcases and exhibits this year including more than 30 sessions and 60,000 square feet of exhibitor space with 300 exhibits.

Over 150 artists and clinicians will participate in the conference program including James Moody, Dave Brubeck, Gary Burton and Makoto Ozone, Freddie Hubbard, Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra with Dee Dee Bridgewater, George Duke, Kirk Whalum, Tiger Okoshi Quartet, Danish Radio Big Band, Al Dimeola, Billy Childs Chamber Sextet, Alex Acuna, Masters of Groove, JoAnn Brackeen, Richie Cole Alto Madness, Gordon Goodwin's Big Phat Band, Steve Houghton, Ruben Alvarez, Poncho Sanchez, Marc Cary, Alex Acuna and Justo Almario, Kim Richmond Concert Jazz Orchestra, Shelly Berg/Frank Potenza Duo, The Either/Orchestra, Rodney Jones, Pete Escovedo Band with Sheila E, Joe Chambers, Peter Erskine, Alan Pasqua, Dave Carpenter, Gregg Field, Victor Mendoza, Airto Moreira, Lewis Nash, Ed Neumeister, Ellen Rowe, Bobby Shew, Billy Taylor, Tierney Sutton and Mike Tomaro.

Forty student groups from around the world are also scheduled to perform at the conference.

The European Jazz Festivals Organization and the IAJE have partnered to create a new award to recognize international artists who have contributed significantly to the evolution of jazz. The inaugural award, which includes a $20,000 honorarium, will be presented to Austrian keyboardist, bandleader, and composer Joe Zawinul.

A special tribute concert honoring Zawinuk will be presented on Sat, Jan 12, by the WDR German Radio Big Band under the direction of multiple Grammy winner Vince Mendoza. The concert will also feature guests' artists who have played with Joe during his extensive career. On Fri, Jan 12, the IAJE Conference will host the National Endowment for the Arts American Jazz Masters Awards for the 12th consecutive year. Hosted by Dr. Billy Taylor, each honoree will receive a $20,000 fellowship during ceremonies at that evening's concert from the NEA Chairman. The 2002 award recipients will be Frank Foster, Percy Heath and McCoy Tyner.

The 2nd Annual IAJE Gala Dinner will be held on Wed, Jan 9. Hosted by Nancy Wilson, proceeds from the Gala will benefit the IAJE Global Outreach Fund.

The IAJE Presidents Award, which honors an individual for their extraordinary contributions to the field of jazz education, will be presented to Quincy Jones during the dinner.

Also benefiting the IAJE Global Outreach Fund is the IAJE Benefit Golf Tournament. Scheduled for Jan 8 at the El Dorado Park Golf Course in Long Beach, the tournament provides an opportunity for leading jazz artists to join with other IAJE members to support the cause of jazz education. Past participants have included Branford Marsalis, Joe Lovano, Harvey Mason, and Ray Brown.

This year's sponsorship and support comes from JazzTimes, BET on Jazz, Jazziz, Down Beat, NARAS, the Jazz Journalists Association and DL Media.

Additionally, National Public Radio (NPR) is producing a full-day radio symposium on Wed, Jan 9, with panels on issues of interest to jazz radio professionals. NPR will also construct a command broadcast booth in the lobby of the Long Beach Convention Center, with daily live bi-coastal feeds to KLON-FM (Long Beach, CA) and WBGO-FM (Newark, NJ).

Other conference highlights will include performances by the BET on Jazz Sisters in Jazz Collegiate All-Stars, the winner of the Montreux Jazz Festival Jas Hennessy Piano Competition, and the Clifford Brown/Stan Getz Fellowship Recipients (supported in part by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts). The world premiere of the Herb Albert Jazz Endowment Fund Gil Evans Commission and the ASCAP/IAJE Commissions (honoring Billy Taylor), will also be presented during the conference.

Full conference early bird registration is $250, which includes a one-year IAJE membership. Registration after Nov 16 is $280. Current IAJE members can deduct $55. For more information or to register for the conference, call IAJE at (785) 776-8744, fax (785) 776-6190, email or log on to

For IAJE Gala Dinner and Benefit Golf Tournament Sponsorship Information, contact Sherri Franklin with S.L. Franklin & Associates at (213) 712-9906 or email

Media inquiries should be directed to Don Lucoff or Brad Riesau at DL Media. Phone (610) 667-0501, Fax (610) 667-0502, or email

The IAJE Conference is underwritten in part by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.