Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

Loverboy To Be Inducted In Canadian Music Hall of Fame

VANCOUVER, BC (CelebrityAccess MediaWire) — The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) announced that this year's Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee will be Loverboy.

The original members of the band, Paul Dean, Mike Reno, Doug Johnson and Matt Frenette (with the exception of the late Scott Smith) were in attendance, and will be honoured during the live broadcast of Canada's Music Awards, The 2009 JUNO Awards, on Sunday, March 29 on CTV.

"We are honoured to celebrate Loverboy's induction into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame," said Melanie Berry, President of CARAS. "Loverboy's high-octane rock and spirited lyrics continue to resonate with audiences worldwide."

"One of my most memorable Juno moments was winning Producer of the Year with the late great Bruce Fairbairn. Now being recognized by the Canadian Music Hall of Fame – that's very cool," said Paul Dean.

"For me, as a member of Loverboy it is a great honour to be in the company of such great artists who came before me," said Mike Reno.

The Canadian Music Hall of Fame was established in 1978 and recognizes Canadian artists that have attained commercial success while having a positive impact on the Canadian music scene here at home and around the world. Loverboy will join the ranks among Canadian music icons including Anne Murray, Bruce Cockburn, Daniel Lanois, Hank Snow, Joni Mitchell, Leonard Cohen, Neil Young, Oscar Petersen, Tom Cochrane, and 2008 recipients Triumph, in the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. – CelebrityAccess Staff Writers