MTV's ‘Unprecedented Global Event’? The Beatles

NEW YORK (Hypebot) – Yesterday MTV sent dozens of emails to the media including Hypebot inviting us to an "unprecedented global music event" (aka a conference call) today with the top network's top execs and the head of The Beatles' Apple Corp. I admit I was intrigued until rumors began to circulate that the announcement was really just that Fab Four were licensing content to MTV owned Harmonix video game Rock Band.

So if you want up to the minute coverage of this "unprecedented global music event" you'll have to look elsewhere. I'll write about it tomorrow, but I'm boycotting the event…OK I'm just not dialing in. I get a little tired of that every time the Fab Four farts somebody tries to turn it into an event. If John Lennon were alive he'd be calling the MTV PR department to complain too.

Here is the full text of the short announcement :

* MEDIA ALERT * MEDIA ALERT * MEDIA ALERT *

Apple Corps Ltd. and MTV to Announce Exclusive Agreement to Develop Unprecedented Global Music Project

WHAT: Apple Corps Ltd. and MTV to announce an exclusive agreement to develop a global music project.

WHO: Jeff Jones, CEO of Apple Corps, Ltd.
Judy McGrath, Chairman and CEO of MTV Networks
Van Toffler, President of MTV Networks Music/Logo Group

WHEN: Thursday, October 30, 2008
2:00 pm UK Time, 10:00 am ET, 7:00 AM PT

Related Post