Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

The Mile High Music Festival Inaugural Line Up

DENVER (CelebrityAccess MediaWire) — The inaugural Mile High Music Festival will be headlined by Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers on July 19, with the Dave Matthews Band closing out the next night. The line up was anounced earlier today.

Chuck Morris said that this first year will set the stage for what he hopes to be an annual event for the next 20 years or more.

Altogether, more than 35 acts are confirmed for the festival, with more on the way.

The festival — which Morris and his company, the Phil Anschutz-owned AEG Live, hope will become an annual event.

The facility is run by Stan Kroenke, the owner of the Denver Nuggets, Colorado Avalanche, Colorado Rapids and Pepsi Center and an increasingly frequent collaborator with Anschutz on major events.

The concerts were originally planned for City Park in the urban-festival style of the Austin City Limits festival or Seattle's Bumbershoot, where the city streets become the stage for the music. Objections from Denver Zoo officials over the possibility of trauma to its animals from the loud music scuttled that plan, despite extensive pre-planning and work by AEG Live, according to the Daily Camera.

The line-up for Mile High Music Festival is currently as follows (not in order of appearance. Additional artists are expected to be announced at a later date).


Saturday, July 19

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
Steve Winwood
Michael Franti and Spearhead
O.A.R. (Of A Revolution)
Citizen Cope
Brett Dennen
Newton Faulkner
Andrew Bird
Josh Ritter
State Radio
JJ Grey and Mofro
Bob Schneider
Born in the Flood

Sunday, July 20

Dave Matthews Band
John Mayer
The Black Crowes
Rodrigo y Gabriela
Colbie Caillat
Ingrid Michaelson
Flogging Molly
The Roots
Leftover Salmon
Martin Sexton
Grace Potter and the Nocturnals
Tea Leaf Green
Rose Hill Drive
The New Mastersounds
Serena Ryder
The Photo Atlas

–by CelebrityAccess Staff Writers