Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

Jimmy Napes Wins Top Honors At 20th Annual SESAC Pop Awards

NEW YORK (CelebrityAccess) — Performance rights organization SESAC hosted its 20th annual Pop Awards at Cipriani 42nd Street on Monday, April 18, with Jimmy Napes captured the evening’s top honors by being named Songwriter of the Year.

Napes was also honored with the Song of the Year Award for penning the Sam Smith recorded hit, "I’m Not The Only One." Universal Tunes was named Publisher of the Year.

Napes, a longtime collaborator with Sam Smith, is a two-time SESAC Songwriter of the Year. He also took the top honor in 2015, as well as winning the SESAC Song of the Year award for writing “Stay With Me,” the multiple Grammy Award-winning song recorded by Smith. In addition to Napes’ string of radio successes, he recently won an Academy Award for best original song for "Writing’s On The Wall" from the James Bond film Spectre.

SESAC’s Trevor Gale and Linda Lorence Critelli hosted the event, which also featured performances by American Idol winner Nick Fradiani singing his coronation single, “Beautiful Life”, and Oscar-nominated actress Hailee Steinfeld singing her debut single “Love Myself.” – Staff Writers